COVID-19 lockdown

Wed, Mar 18, 2020 2-minute read

Given the current situation, I’m more than happy that we’re living on the countryside. The freezers are fully packed with garden vegetables from last year, my wife started doing home-baked bread again and we’ve got enough coffee in stock to keep me awake for many months.

The last couple of days, I’ve been setting up my homeoffice, perfecting my french press recipe and doing extra-long walks with my dog Skye. Living in the southern part of Austria, I just need to step out of the house and I’m literally standing in the woods. I’m carrying a protective mask with me, but rarely have to actually put it on, as I rarely ever meet someone else - I’ve managed to walk as much as two hours on forest tracks without coming across another human being. As I’ve now got about two hours each day of extra time (which I previously used to commute between work and home), I started to double the km/day with Skye. Currently we’re about 16 kilometers a day, my longest walk up to now has been 22 kilometers in a little over 4 hours. I’ve switched my Fitbit for a Fossil Sport Smartwatch, as the distance tracking of the Fitbit was about 10% off and I really couldn’t get myself to accept that inaccuracy.

Besides enjoying nature, I already miss meeting people face to face, such as my parents and gradma, who are all in the “risk group” and therefore should have as little contact to other people as possible.

Let’s hope this “Corona crisis” will be over soon, I’m already a bit worried because my wife and I are expecting our first child in just a month from now - and nobody can tell how the situation in hospitals will be in a week or three from now.

I hope you’re all staying safe and healthy!